CHER Advisory Board

CHER Advisory Board members, 2018-19:

Hartford residents: Haben Abraham, Mary Cockram, Michelle Dukes-Beach, Linda Martinez, Bulaong Ramiz

Trinity faculty and staff: Dina Anselmi, Laura Holt, Seth Markle, David Tatem, Jim Trostle

CHER program leaders: Joe Barber, Megan Brown, Robert Cotto Jr., Carlos Espinosa, Megan Faver Hartline

Chair: Jack Dougherty, CHER Director

Membership and meetings:

Our mission statement: CHER strengthens educational partnerships between Hartford’s diverse communities and students, staff, and faculty at Trinity College, and evaluates campus-city relationships.

The CHER Advisory Board consists of Hartford residents, Trinity faculty & staff, and CHER program leaders, selected by the Director in consultation with other board members, to serve for a one-year term. Members provide feedback about current efforts and offer guidance on future directions. We meet for approximately one hour about four times per year. Members who are not Trinity employees may request $100 per meeting in compensation for their time to prepare and participate, payable either to the individual or their employer.

At least one week prior to each advisory board meeting, the Director will distribute an agenda with items to review and discuss (such as recent reports), items requiring a decision (such as proposed initiatives or major budgetary/personnel changes), future directions to consider, and the date/time of the next meeting.

The Director and the Board may choose to create standing or ad-hoc committees.

We value all members’ opinions and seek consensus, but will vote by secret ballot if needed.

All board members may discuss and vote on items, except for conflict-of-interest issues.

The role of the board is advisory. Each CHER program leader has autonomy over their operating budget, and the Dean of Faculty has final authority (in consultation with the Director and the Advisory Board) over the CHER mission, personnel, and annual funding allocation to CHER and each of its programs.